EXTRA EXTRA … Read All About It

For the past year and a half I worked 10 hour days 6 days and on call the remaining hours of the week. I wasn’t living. I was existing to earn a paycheck. Don’t get me wrong the money was good, no… great, but I was consumed by a job that I hated. Wait, I didn’t hate the job and I loved the people. It was just too much. I was exhausted, I did nothing but work. The time away from home even jeopardized my marriage but in my mind somehow I justified I had to do it. In January I realized NO I DON”T HAVE TO DO IT. I had a little money saved up. I sold my convertible (I will replace it again one day) and anything else that wasn’t nailed down that would bring a few bucks. The bills would be paid for a few months. You know that the bills still come even when a paycheck doesn’t.

Now what? I had no idea. I think that I mourned my leaving. Honestly, I was wound tighter than an eight-day clock. I wanted to exhale, to breathe, to be excited for what lay ahead, but I couldn’t. I have learned that we are a lot like animals, we are creatures of habit. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I loved hearing my alarm chime and knowing that I could turn it off and go back to sleep. I slept and slept and slept … Some would have thought that I was in a depression. I like to think of it as a decompression. I had to find my new rhythm. For 18 months, I was like a robot. I was doing the same thing at the same time everyday. I had to reschedule and reorganize. One morning I got up and I finally exhaled. It felt great!

That morning I called our local newspaper and asked if could I start writing for them again. “Sure, we would love that”, was the answer that I was praying for. I was covering a story the following weekend. The money is not great. It isn’t even good but it is my passion. It is what I want to do, and what I am meant to do. I know this much is true … when you do something you love it is not a job!  But, when you do something that consumes your every moment…it can destroy you and everything around you.

I enjoy life again. I see things clearly. I notice what the weather is. I am not consumed by one thing and life has variety. I am happy…Broke…but happy. Money isn’t everything. Yes, it is easier to cry in nice car than in a cardboard box but I have what I need and I am ALIVE with anticipation of what awaits me in the future!

Click the link below to read the first of many articles to come…

I really enjoyed meeting the people when covering this story. I saw a passion in the Director that reiterated to me that I had made the right decision. I believe that people are placed in our lives for a specific reason. We have to have open eyes and have a trusting heart to realize what that reason may be.

10 thoughts on “EXTRA EXTRA … Read All About It

  1. I am so happy for you. You are blessed to have had the courage and strengths to use your God given talent in a way that brings happiness and fulfillment to you, your family and your readers. Thank you for making that choice. Continued Joy in whatever Life choices you make. Thanks for always inspiring me. LUM

  2. I love this! Congrats on taking this leap! I went through a similar experience working for an insurance company on the east coast, before my husband and I decided to take the risk to have the life we really want (my blog explains – Trailerdreamer.wordpress.com – I am brand new to blogging so would love for you to drop by and let me know what you think!) It was soooo frightening to do but so worth it! I did love the people I worked with, I did my job well, and they were a great company to work for but what I really wanted was to be raising my daughter. You don’t get paid in dollar bills for that job but it dawned on me that no one can do it better, and that no one WANTS to do it more than I do and that makes all the difference. I am so inspired when I see posts like yours that remind me that there are others out there that are making their lives BETTER and not just “more successful.” Thanks for your post!

  3. Thank you for visiting my blog and especially for the words of encouragement. I visited your blog and loved reading about you and your family. I too have 2 poodles, along with a bichon frise, a lab, and too many horses to even discuss haha. They are my toddlers! It’s funny that you mentioned successful. I know it is silly but I feel success everytime someone visits, comments, follows, or likes my blog. This is what I love…meeting new Friends! I will read all of your posts and will be cheering you on from SC! I can’t wait for the pictures that you will post when you and your family are living out your dreams in your RV! Keep blogging and Stay In Touch!

  4. I cut my writing teeth at a newspaper and LOVED it! You’re right, the pay isn’t great, but the writing and the people were amazing. Would love to do that again someday…

Leave a Reply

