Flavors to Choose From…

Dirt road

Dirt road (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Daily Prompt: Local Flavor

Write a piece about a typically “local” experience from where you come from as though it’s an entry in a travel guide.

Where do I come from?

I come from a place where beauty surrounds and love abounds! I am blessed to say that I have lived in almost every region of South Carolina. I was born and raised in the upstate. I relocated and met my husband in the lowcountry. I currently live in a farming community in the midlands.

I could stretch the truth and tell you that in my town there is a quaint coffee shop, fancy bakery, or an exquisite dining establishment. What is the use to do that? I live surrounded by fields. Sometimes corn, sometimes soy beans, and other times cotton surrounds me. There are no side walks to walk down. We prefer dirt in these parts. You can’t get anywhere without taking a dirt road. Needless to say, there are no corner car washes. Most of the time, the Lord gives our cars and trucks baths, as he sees fit. Unless, we have a special occasion and at that time we might pull out the hose pipe, bucket, and bottle of dish detergent and give it a good “washin”.

What is our flavor?

Sometimes it is sweet. Sweet as the jasmine and honeysuckle blooming on a warm afternoon.

Sometimes it is salty. Salty as the sweat that gets in unspeakable places on 100 degree days with 100 percent humidity working in the barns and or fields.

Sometimes it is mild. You will most likely find us relaxing after a big meal on a Sunday afternoon.

Sometimes it is spicy. Come around here raising a ruckus or trying to hurt our family and the temperature will rise quickly.

In the South we can go from sweet to spicy in the blink of an eye. That is just the way we are. If you think that you can handle a hard day’s work, a little dirt, a lot of sweat, and southern hospitality at its finest, you are welcome to visit where I come from. Oh, and the coffee is good, the baked goods are homemade, and I will give you a fine dining experience of country cooking sitting around my kitchen table. We may be a little “country” but, we don’t go without!

13 thoughts on “Flavors to Choose From…

  1. Pingback: Kitsch Incoming! My Experience at Cafe Hon | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  2. Pingback: Warm, salty, lobster-flavoured Sanday | The Daily Dilly Dally

  3. Sounds good to me! Hubby and I have been chopping wood all day and repairing the wall, we love the country life here in Bulgaria. South Carolina sounds wonderful, I can smell your home baking goods already 🙂

    • Eleenie, I enjoy your blog so much! Living in Bulgaria … Amazing! Remember I’m a country girl…you might as well be living on another planet hahaha! I so appreciate you coming by and commenting. You are welcome to at my kitchen table for a piece of pie anytime 🙂

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Local Flavor: Welcome To Tennessee | My Daily Prompt Blog

  5. Pingback: Where is Wapakoneta And What Does It mean? | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Where is Wapakoneta And What Does It mean? | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beautiful Hawthorne | My Atheist Blog

  8. I was born in Charleston. I grew up on James Island. Now I live in Sumter. I know all about dirt roads, fields upon fields of corn, tobacco, cotton, etc. I also know about the Beach (which would be Folly or Isle of Palms, not Myrtle), the marsh, and the locals. I also know about Spoleto, the Oyster Festival, the Iris Festival, the Rice Festival, as well as a number of other festivals (that I haven’t had enough coffee to think of the names). I’ve lived in Atlanta, GA; Jacksonville, FL; as well as a few other places in SC like Dillon, Florence, Walterboro, Summerville, and Folly Beach. I miss the coast, the smell of the ocean, even the marsh some days, but I don’t miss the traffic.

    • Agreed Lissa I don’t miss the traffic of Charleston either! SUMTER! Girl we are neighbors. I am in Orangeburg county (in the country)! I swear… I love blogging. I knew that I connected with your posts, now I know why. 🙂

      • 😀 When I happen to be in Sumter’s 5 o’clock traffic I get road rage, I can’t imagine moving back to Charleston. I have family in Eutawville, and in Orangeburg county. I also love blogging ❤

  9. Pingback: A little local flavor | thelissachronicles

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Local Flavor | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

